The University has a zero-tolerance policy for hazing. Louisiana has strict laws against and strong penalities for hazing.
On May 31, 2018, Gov. John Bel Edwards signed bills into law that discourage hazing and strengthen sanctions. Below are some key provisions of the legislation.
- A person who takes part in hazing activities that result in death, a serious bodily injury or the victim's blood alcohol level reaching at least .30 would face up to five years in prison and can be fined up to $10,000.
- When hazing doesn't lead to death, a person can be fined up to $1,000 and six months in prison.
- Any person at the scene of an emergency where another person suffers serious bodily harm must give reasonable assistance to the injured person, including seeking help or reporting the need for help to the appropriate authority. Persons who fail to immediately report the need can be fined up to $1,000, imprisoned up to one year or both. If the injury results in death, the offender can be fined up to $2,500, imprisoned up to five years or both.
- The identifying information of students who report violations of the Student Code of Conduct is protected from public disclosure.
- Organizations – fraternities, sororities, associations, social clubs, athletic teams and similar college groups – that knowingly allow hazing could also be fined up to $10,000. Groups are required to report suspected hazing and provide anti-hazing education.
- Universities are required to expel or suspend students who haze others.
The University is in process of updating its hazing policies in conjunction with the Board of Regents and the University of Louisiana System.
View the University's official anti-hazing policy >
Report hazing to the dean of students >
Hazing prevention through education resources >